This Months Empire Magazine

I love Empire Magazine and there is plenty to get excited about in this months issue.
Gone GirlBen Affleck and Rosamund Pike grace this months front cover. Some have labeled these promotional shots for the film Gone Girl as bad taste but having read the book, written by Gillian Flynn, this shot is the perfect poster for the film.
Death, control, perception, it’s all there. I read the book when the film was announced, it sounded right up my street.
A woman goes missing on the day of her 5th wedding anniversary and her husband is the number one suspect. I won’t go into any details but it turned out to be a great page turner and it’s worth noting if you have read the book that the ending has been re-written (by author Gillian Flynn) for the film. I seem to remember reading a lot of people felt let down by the books ending, for the record I liked it, so perhaps if you weren’t keen on how the book ended this will satisfy you.
While I have reservations about Batfleck I think he could be great in this.

Next up, Dia de los Muertos inspired The Book of Life. I watched the trailer for this a couple of weeks ago and I can’t wait to see it.
THE BOOK OF LIFE MOVIE
The film is co-written and directed by Jorge Gutierrez, the man behind Nickelodeon show El Tigre: The Adventures of Manny Rivera. Guillermo del Toro gets a mention as a co-producer and starring the voices of of Channing Tatum, Zoe Saldana, Diego Luna and Christina Applegate.
The film is described as the journey of Manolo (Diego Luna), a young man who is torn between fulfilling the expectations of his family and following his heart.

BirdmanNext up we have contender for best trailer of the year Birdman.
A black comedy where Michael Keaton plays an actor – famous for portraying an iconic superhero (art imitating life?) as he struggles to produce a Broadway play. In the days leading up to opening night, he battles his ego and attempts to recover his family, his career, and himself.
If you haven’t already, watch the trailer it’s fantastic.

Agent CarterI was really disappointed in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D To give it some due it did pick up towards the end of the season and I only know that because while I had given up on it my husband gave it the benefit of the doubt and kept watching.
I feel like the Marvel Shorts have all been better than any individual episode of S.H.I.E.L.D or as a whole. The best short, as far as I’m concerned was Agent Carter and I was thrilled to find out Peggy was getting her own series. The series was officially commissioned on May 8, 2014, and will debut in January 2015 during the season 2 mid-season break of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Maps to the starsMaps to the Stars, described as a  satirical crime drama is directed by David Cronenberg and stars Julianne Moore, Mia Wasikowska and John Cusack. There’s an interview with Moore about Maps to the Stars in which she likens her character to that of Norma Desmond in Sunset Boulevard which immediately got my attention as that’s one of my favourite films.
The idea of a fading star becoming more and more relevant as age and beauty become mutually exclusive in Hollywood. I’ve yet to see a trailer but it’s Cronenberg so obviously I’ll be watching.

None of these sound good to you? Don’t worry you can probably see a doctor about that but in the meantime pick up a copy of Empire as these are just a few films I’ve cherry picked for this blog, it’s jam packed full of other articles and interviews.
TMNT, The next installment of The Hunger Games, some Jude Law flick about a submarine and more!

Buy your copy at Empire.com

About Moxie McMurder

Mad, bad and dangerous to know.
This entry was posted in Film, Magazine, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

