Movies With Bite: A Look Back at Cursed

Cursed_posterI had forgotten that Cursed existed up until the night before I rewatched it. I saw the film when it came out (2005) and when I saw it up on Netflix I thought I’d give it another go as I seemed to remember liking it.
I still kinda do.
Directed by Wes Craven and starring Christina Ricci, Joshua Jackson and Jesse Eisenberg, Cursed is the story of a brother and sister whose lives are changed after crashing their car and coming into contact with a werewolf.

Christina and jesseChristina Ricci does a good job as the lead, she’s a good mix of vulnerable but strong and my own personal irritant Jesse Eisenberg does a great job of irritating me throughout. Dawson’s Creek alumni Joshua Jackson is a watchable actor but his character is far too obvious from the get go, he knows more than he’s letting on and we all know it.

Everything you would expect to find in a werewolf film is here, you’ve got full moons, an aversion to silver and the obligatory nods to the original Universal film The Wolfman. The special effects in the film are fine for the time although to me the wolf, at times, looked more like a bear and just wasn’t very scary.

wolfThe story follows a fairly predictable narrative and yet for all the bad there is it’s still oddly entertaining. This is a popcorn flick, something to be enjoyed then immediately forgotten. Let me put it this way, if you’ve never seen a werewolf flip someone off and the idea makes you smile, maybe give Cursed a looksee.

About Moxie McMurder

Mad, bad and dangerous to know.
This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movies With Bite: A Look Back at Cursed

  1. thycriticman says:

    You might be right about the immediately forgotten part. I knew that I watched this in the past, but I can only remember a single scene. Unfortunately, it is not the flip-off that I recall! Sounds like a fun night though!

Leave a Reply

