Why The Ant-Man Trailer Sucks

ANT MANYesterday the trailer for new Marvel flick Ant-Man was released and boy was it underwhelming!

I’ll be honest, my anticipation for this film dropped off considerably after director Edgar Wright (Spaced, Shaun of the Dead, Scott Pilgrim) left the project. As I’ve made mention before, I don’t have a background in reading comics so I’m one of the many people who had no idea who Ant-Man was and to be honest I wasn’t sold on a superhero who could shrink himself to the size of an ant…C’MON!
That said, Guardians of the Galaxy had a talking racoon and a talking tree and it won me over. With Wright at the helm I was beginning to come round to the idea, if nothing else I knew the film would look and sound brilliant. That’s what Wright does, he’s a bit brilliant.

Ant Man has been in development since the 80’s but the film Honey I Shrunk the Kids meant the project was pushed back. Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish (comedian turned writer/director – Attack the Block) had been attached to the Ant-Man project since 2003 when they wrote a treatment and a year later pitched to Marvel.

The Worlds End - PhotocallWright was hired in 2006 and began working on a script with Cornish.
In May 2014 Wright announced he was leaving the production due to “differences in their vision of the film.” I was shocked, he’d been involved in Ant-Man for 10 years! I felt for the guy, he was obviously passionate about the project and I had been looking forward to seeing what he would do with a superhero film.

Peyton Reed was to take over as director, Reed being responsible for Yes Man, Bring it On and The Break Up. None of these films are good. This doesn’t look good for Ant-Man, at least as far as I’m concerned.

You can watch the trailer here:

paul-rudd-ant-manThe Ant-Man trailer comes across as quite serious and a bit dull. Even Paul Rudd’s quip at the end of the trailer about ditching the name didn’t come off as funny as perhaps it should have.

Even the “action” in the trailer is sterile and there were no intriguing tidbits, nothing to make you say “ooooh what was that all about?” nothing to really draw you in. In short, it kinda sucked.

When Guardians of the Galaxy, which was another relatively unknown quantity, released its trailer it instantly told us what to expect from the film. Ant-Man doesn’t have that same impact. I’m not excited, if anything I’ve lost what little excitement I had. I really hope the trailer isn’t indicative of the film. I’ll still watch Ant-Man but I’ll always wonder what Edgar Wright would have done.

About Moxie McMurder

Mad, bad and dangerous to know.
This entry was posted in trailers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why The Ant-Man Trailer Sucks

  1. bryanltj0412 says:

    What about the Avengers Age of Ultron trailer.That was dark and serious, even more than this.And when Ant Man shrinks down he still retains his strength and speed, and talk to insects with his helmet.And as for exciting, the man was riding on an ANT.

Leave a Reply

