Ghostbusters Cast Announced

ghostbusters rebootWell, it’s official, here is the lineup for Paul Feig’s Ghostbusters reboot. I’m a little underwhelmed by it.

I’m not keen on the idea of a Ghostbusters reboot. Couldn’t someone have written a brand new film that’s based around the paranormal instead of taking an already established franchise? Although I appreciate that the fact it’s already established is part of the reason they’re doing this.

ghostbusters-logoI have no problem with the four leads being female but the actresses involved don’t wow me. I’m not keen on Paul Feig either. Everyone seemed to love The Heat and I thought it was awful. He did direct some episodes of Nurse Jackie though and I love that show.

I’ve yet to see Melissa McCarthy do something decent. I remember loving Bridesmaids when I saw it in the cinema but when I tried to watch it at home I had to switch it off halfway through because it was suddenly a terrible film that I just wasn’t enjoying. I didn’t like The Heat and Tammy made me want to rip off my arm and throw it at the screen – I’m stunned that McCarthy’s husband wrote that film.

Kristen Wiig is a good, if predictable choice and I’ve never heard of Leslie Jones and Kate McKinnon.  They’re from SNL which we don’t get here in the UK. Although I must admit, when I’ve seen episodes of SNL it’s always a disappointment.

So all this adds up to something potentially terrible but I’ll have to reserve judgement until I see it, you never know. The reboot is due to be released in the summer next year.

About Moxie McMurder

Mad, bad and dangerous to know.
This entry was posted in news, opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

