Spoilers, Triggers and Something a Little Deeper

image

Man I hate spoilers.
Of course when it comes to films that have been out for a certain amount of time, you can’t avoid spoilers.
Solent Green is people!

But when it comes to films currently showing in cinemas, reading reviews that give away major plot points and twists drive me crazy. Then you have the problem of spoilers written in comment sections.

I posted a link to one of my reviews on social media and someone commented with a spoiler… of sorts.

I totally understand why this person posted this particular ‘spoiler’, it was in the form of a trigger warning, which I’m all for by the way. However the trigger warning used gave away a major plot twist.
I had to stop and think for a moment.

I decided to delete the comment as due to the uncertain nature of the film, the trigger warning/spoiler was, in a way, inappropriate.
I don’t get to decide what should or shouldn’t trigger someone but I do get to decide if someone has potentially written a spoiler on my blog.

Spoilers suck but film discussion is my bread and butter and I want to talk about films with you. If I include spoilers they are always preceeded by a here be spoilers in big bold letters and that’s where we can get into the nitty gritty.
Of course you can email me Asharedmadness13@gmail.com , message me on Twitter @A_SharedMadness or message my Facebook Page if you want to talk more about a film I’ve written about.

image

Anyway, all this reminded me of an excellent article written by Film Crit Hulk a couple of years ago on Birth.Movies.Death Hulk vs Spoilers . It’s an excellent article that digs deep into spoilers and how we consume art, so go make a cuppa and get comfortable!

Thanks for reading!

Moxie McMurder
A Shared Madness

About Moxie McMurder

Mad, bad and dangerous to know.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

