Garden City Cinema Review – The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

wp-1448485616794.jpg

ACTORS: Jennifer Lawrence, Donald Sutherland, Julianne Moore, Josh Hutcherson
Director: Francis Lawrence
Cert: 12A

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 is now showing at the Garden City Cinema in Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire.

I haven’t read the books and I’ll be honest, I wasn’t bowled over by the first two films in the franchise but I could see why they were popular and I enjoyed them for what they are.

Then came Mockingjay.
I really liked part one, a lot of people didn’t but I liked getting into the nitty gritty of the politics behind the series and gave Katniss time to reflect on her time in the Games. I felt like it had stepped up its game. The propaganda videos that looked like X Factor adverts, the themes of exploitation, trust etc all worked for me.

Mockingjay Part 2 is tense, violent and has some really great unexpected moments (for someone who hasn’t read the books at least). We start off where part one ended, Katniss is recovering from Peeta’s attack. I can’t stand Peeta, his character is intensely irritating and actor Josh Hutcherson has zero chemistry with Jennifer Lawrence, why she feels so strongly about him is beyond me..but I digress. He’s still brainwashed and cannot be trusted around Katniss.

mockingjay2

The Rebels are ready for the last push against President Snow (twinkly eyed Donald Sutherland) and Katniss and her group of cohorts group together for the last time to win this war once and for all. But these things never run smoothly and Katniss is pushed to the limit.

Mockingjay Part 2 is not without its criticisms, uneven pacing, lacklustre performances and at times Katniss feels like a bystander to the situation, not the woman leading the troops. It’s a little frustrating and the ending – when it finally came, was a real let down in certain respects but with all that said I still liked the film and Katniss is still a great character that I’m sorry to say goodbye to. Perhaps I’ll give the books a go.
Click the link to book tickets to see Mockingjay Part 2 at the Garden City Cinema

Moxie McMurder
 
A Shared Madness

About Moxie McMurder

Mad, bad and dangerous to know.
This entry was posted in action, Books, Film, Garden City Cinema, Garden City Review, Hertfordshire, review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

